Home :: Customer feedback

Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
10 results found
Show results 1 - 10
Rob Robbins about  BLF184XR 88-108MHz 600W FM Pallet :
Oct 14, 2014
The pallet is simple and works outstanding as a intermediate amplifier to drive a 10 kW triode tube transmitter. The support from Broadcast Concepts is amazing.

Advantages: Can replace outdated combined multi-module IPA pallets with a single modern pallet that takes less than 1/5 of the original space inside a transmitter cabinet.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Ed Dulaney about  BLF184XR 88-108MHz 600W FM Pallet :
Feb 25, 2015
I've used this, along with a low-pass filter, to replace the "inners" in a failed Silicon Valley IPA unit for a Continental 816 transmitter. It works perfectly! I'll definitely be buying more of these!

Advantages: Cost and size.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Robert Williams about  SD2942 350W FM Pallet Amplifier:
Feb 22, 2017
I used this pallet amp to replace the driver stage in a Harris HT-5 FM transmitter. It has been in service for over 4 years with no problems.

Advantages: Small enough to mount on existing heat sink after the original circuit board was removed. Worked fine on the 24 to 28 volt driver supply that was in the transmitter.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
CV Ramana about  BLF278 300W FM Pallet Amplifier:
Mar 2, 2018
We many of their 250 watt, 28 V pallet amplifiers and found them to be of excellent quality, build and presentation. Our clients are very happy with their performance. Andrew knows what he builds!

Advantages: Rugged, high performance, low cost and great support by Andrew
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Oct 16, 2018
excellent. easy to install . good for the price

Advantages: easy to use

Disadvantages: not really one
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Ryan Toomey about  200W FM Low Pass Filter with DC:
Mar 3, 2019
This is a nice, low cost low-pass filter that works great. My signal is VERY clean with this hooked up. No detectable harmonics, spurs, or other interference. I absolutely love the fact that you can hook a meter up to it so your power can be monitored easily on the fly. Accuracy seems good enough (please read below).

I have this mounted in a metal case on standoffs. RF Connections are made with RG316 coax to SO-239 connectors. I have the directional coupler hooked to a 150-watt panel meter that I found on rfparts.com

This was relatively easy for me to setup.

Advantages: Low cost, does the job, integrated directional coupler for easy power monitoring. Does NOT heat up with continuous power (I ran 150 watts through this for hours and coils were only barely warm).

Disadvantages: Insertion loss seems a little high. I measured the input power to the filter at 150 watts; However, the measured output power after the filter is only 125 watts. That is almost 1db of insertion loss!
Also, this filter also increases SWR slightly. Without the filter, my SWR is 1.2:1, with the filter in-line my SWR goes up to 1.4:1, so it is not exactly as transparent as I would like. Even with a 50-ohm dummy load hooked up, the SWR is still 1.3:1

Third, the directional coupler is not linear and not exactly consistent - I compared it with a calibrated Telewave 44A and this reads low at the low end and high at the high end. For example, at 50 watts, this shows about 40 watts, and at 100 watts, this shows about 110 watts. Also, when calibrating the directional coupler, I couldn't get the same reading every single time. It seems to vary slightly here and there.

The directional coupler seems good enough to provide you a ballpark reading and know that your transmitter is still working.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Richard Rhodes about  SD2942 350W FM Pallet Amplifier:
Oct 11, 2019
Worked as advertised. Replaced final in a Broadcast Technologies BT-300. Tapping the heat sink on the BT-300 was the the only real work.

Advantages: Revived an otherwise obsolete RF amp.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Martin xavier p a about  700W FM Amp Module Heatsink/Low Pass Filter:
Mar 9, 2021
Good product
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Joe Eck about  250W FM LPF Enclosed:
Jun 11, 2021
A professionally-made filter in a robust housing for a fair price. Works well with our 150W pallet amplifier.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
ANA R Medina about  BLF278 300W FM Pallet Amplifier:
Jun 23, 2021
Producto de muy buena calidad.Lo certifico hemos ensamblados transmisores desde 2012 y aun siguen funcionando

Advantages: precio asecible para una buena calidad
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)